ipdf/sam.git
4 years agoTHE FINAL COUNTDOWN master
Sam Moore [Mon, 27 Oct 2014 11:21:08 +0000 (19:21 +0800)]
THE FINAL COUNTDOWN

After all this, I still have to come back next semester anyway...

4 years agoPenultimate draft
Sam Moore [Sun, 26 Oct 2014 07:49:02 +0000 (15:49 +0800)]
Penultimate draft

Depending on how much I can be bothered reading through it again.

4 years agoDrafted into submission
Sam Moore [Tue, 21 Oct 2014 09:51:20 +0000 (17:51 +0800)]
Drafted into submission

4 years agoCommit things
Sam Moore [Tue, 21 Oct 2014 08:11:15 +0000 (16:11 +0800)]
Commit things

4 years agoMore presentation, also videos
Sam Moore [Sun, 12 Oct 2014 20:23:04 +0000 (04:23 +0800)]
More presentation, also videos

4 years agoA 1.5th order approximation to a 1st draft
Sam Moore [Fri, 10 Oct 2014 09:45:09 +0000 (17:45 +0800)]
A 1.5th order approximation to a 1st draft

This will probably have to be good enough, as I need to catch a bus.

4 years agoIt resembles a first approximation to a rough draft...
Sam Moore [Thu, 9 Oct 2014 16:44:16 +0000 (00:44 +0800)]
It resembles a first approximation to a rough draft...

4 years agoRestructure chapters, delete a bunch of words, add more words, do some things, panic...
Sam Moore [Wed, 8 Oct 2014 14:36:03 +0000 (22:36 +0800)]
Restructure chapters, delete a bunch of words, add more words, do some things, panic a little

I can see where I want it to go but I can't see how I can get it there.

4 years agoLast commit of Lit Review
Sam Moore [Sun, 5 Oct 2014 07:01:22 +0000 (15:01 +0800)]
Last commit of Lit Review

About to turn it into the draft. I hope.

5 years agoMinor fixes to Lit Review
Sam Moore [Fri, 4 Jul 2014 08:46:37 +0000 (16:46 +0800)]
Minor fixes to Lit Review

5 years agoMerge branch 'master' of git.ucc.asn.au:/ipdf/sam
Sam Moore [Thu, 29 May 2014 12:39:22 +0000 (20:39 +0800)]
Merge branch 'master' of git.ucc.asn.au:/ipdf/sam

I edited things at UCC before submitting and forgot to pull them here.

5 years agoKoch's snowflake, now in PostScript!
Sam Moore [Thu, 29 May 2014 12:37:42 +0000 (20:37 +0800)]
Koch's snowflake, now in PostScript!

It is amazing.

5 years agoSubmission time
Sam Moore [Fri, 23 May 2014 03:56:52 +0000 (11:56 +0800)]
Submission time

Please don't explode

5 years agoARGH
Sam Moore [Fri, 23 May 2014 03:18:08 +0000 (11:18 +0800)]
ARGH

5 years agoThe inevitable doom approaches
Sam Moore [Fri, 23 May 2014 03:10:55 +0000 (11:10 +0800)]
The inevitable doom approaches

Deadline approaching, battery dying, no adaptor, X crashing, gdm3 is a piece of shit
bus was late, almost locked wallet in lab, porcupine does not have the pygments latex package
wasted time writing commit messages...

5 years agoI mean it this time I am going to sleep
Sam Moore [Thu, 22 May 2014 17:57:00 +0000 (01:57 +0800)]
I mean it this time I am going to sleep

5 years agoThat's it I give up
Sam Moore [Thu, 22 May 2014 17:29:10 +0000 (01:29 +0800)]
That's it I give up

I might try and find the spelling/grammar errors if I am alive.
But I am not going to write any more even though the second "half" is woefully horrible.

I don't care about page limits if they don't like it they can just... not read the extra pages.
No really, the quality definitely goes down towards the end.

5 years agoTidy up a bit
Sam Moore [Thu, 22 May 2014 12:45:59 +0000 (20:45 +0800)]
Tidy up a bit

Still need that entire second half of the lit review.
It'll just have to be smaller I think.

5 years agoLiterally not finished
Sam Moore [Thu, 22 May 2014 06:20:21 +0000 (14:20 +0800)]
Literally not finished

Ok, deep breaths

I am about 2/3 done here.

Hopefully the last part will be easier since I already have some notes on it in ipdf/documents
Also I won't be hand editing SVGs anymore, why did I do that...

Then I guess I should edit it or something.

:S

5 years agoAll the figures and none of the Lit Review
Sam Moore [Wed, 21 May 2014 18:45:29 +0000 (02:45 +0800)]
All the figures and none of the Lit Review

They are so pretty

5 years agoPostScript or should I say NotJavaScript
Sam Moore [Wed, 21 May 2014 09:44:24 +0000 (17:44 +0800)]
PostScript or should I say NotJavaScript

By the way Cairo outputs stupidly verbose PostScript
Making every single operator a single character does not help when you redefine paths every single time you use them.

Manually editing that one image into different formats is taking longer than working out what to say about them :S

5 years agoHorrible notes on PDF
Sam Moore [Wed, 21 May 2014 03:28:51 +0000 (11:28 +0800)]
Horrible notes on PDF

At bus port now

5 years agoSix Degrees of Document Format
Sam Moore [Tue, 20 May 2014 16:33:45 +0000 (00:33 +0800)]
Six Degrees of Document Format

This just in, PDF has Javascript in it but it isn't quite the same as the DOM

Why

Oh also, does Javascript have its own standard or is it just included in HTML's standard

5 years agoWebby DOM stuff
Sam Moore [Tue, 20 May 2014 13:48:17 +0000 (21:48 +0800)]
Webby DOM stuff

<?xml version="xml except where it isn't">
<!DOCTYPE gitcommit>
<rant id="rantyrantrant"
style="CSS:nope;"
d="why is html not a subset of xml and what is sgml and why does anyone care anyway">

<subrant>Now I've got that out of my system I should do the previous section "Why Knuth Is Right And Everyone Else Is Wrong" about PostScript, PDF, TeX/LaTeX and METAFONT.</subrant>
<subrant>Then I really want to write about actual floats I mean it's about floats god dammit</subrant>

<realisation level="depressing">There is too many things for this to work</realisation>

<superrant>It's like, anything that is vaguely related in any way to producing a pixel on a screen is relevant to our literature.
<terror>Are we just Doing It Wrong?</terror><doomed>But I can't leave it all out now</doomed></superrant>

</rant>

5 years agoKoch Snowflake Generator - Example of DOM based interactive document
Sam Moore [Tue, 20 May 2014 04:03:50 +0000 (12:03 +0800)]
Koch Snowflake Generator - Example of DOM based interactive document

The literature review seems to have devolved into trying to make the coolest figures...

It's a shame you can't embed HTML in PDF oh god what am I saying

5 years agoLiterally Reviewed To Death
Sam Moore [Mon, 19 May 2014 18:54:02 +0000 (02:54 +0800)]
Literally Reviewed To Death

Don't expect me to remember what I actually did, it's 3am.

5 years agoAdd Some Figures
Sam Moore [Mon, 19 May 2014 17:05:52 +0000 (01:05 +0800)]
Add Some Figures

- Plots of 8 bit minifloats (positive only)
- Messing around with SVG a bit

5 years agoRemove dot points add waffles
Sam Moore [Sun, 18 May 2014 14:07:35 +0000 (22:07 +0800)]
Remove dot points add waffles

:-(

There is still so much missing it's frankly starting to get a bit terrifying.

5 years agoProgress*
Sam Moore [Thu, 8 May 2014 15:31:17 +0000 (23:31 +0800)]
Progress*

There are words on the page I will settle for that.

5 years agoFix page input
Sam Moore [Mon, 5 May 2014 16:15:30 +0000 (00:15 +0800)]
Fix page input

Disabled means disabled not just unable to edit
Made a hidden input and kept the disabled one with a different name

Fixed another newline in email.

5 years agoNewlines for email
Sam Moore [Mon, 5 May 2014 15:55:29 +0000 (23:55 +0800)]
Newlines for email

5 years agoCreated Rate My Lit Review
Sam Moore [Mon, 5 May 2014 15:44:43 +0000 (23:44 +0800)]
Created Rate My Lit Review

A system to Rate My Lit Review
Look, you may be thinking "Why didn't he just work on his Lit Review?"

...

That is pretty much exactly what I am thinking right now.

5 years agoLiterally more Literature
Sam Moore [Fri, 2 May 2014 15:32:15 +0000 (23:32 +0800)]
Literally more Literature

Extended that damn fox example even more

Put in markers for the sections as described in the previous commit.
They don't match the current sections. This is sort of a clusterfuck.

Keep wanting to go into more detail on things that probably don't matter.

5 years agoSmall changes, big git commit message
Sam Moore [Thu, 1 May 2014 16:06:05 +0000 (00:06 +0800)]
Small changes, big git commit message

In the imaginary world in which I have completed the Literature Review by now, it goes like this:

0. Here is a brilliant summary of sections 1+ below
1. Here are the fundamentals of graphics (raster and vector, rendering)
2. Here are the ways documents are structured (programming language or varient, DOM, DOM dynamically modified by programming language)
3. Here are ways document standards specify precision
4. Here is IEEE-754 which is what these standards use
5. Here are limitations of IEEE-754 floating point numbers on compatible hardware
6. Here are ways GPU based techniques that are gaining popularity might not be IEEE-754
7. Sod all that, let's just use an arbitrary precision library
8. Here is a brilliant summary of sections 7- above

All this will fit within the page limit whilst still being relevant and containing references
I'm sure must exist but I haven't bothered/had time to locate yet.

That git commit message is probably more useful than anything I've actually written in the report today :S

---

On the third day (if it was indeed still the third day), the author could not think of an exciting encounter for the skeleton, so it rested

5 years agoFlesh out Literature Review
Sam Moore [Wed, 30 Apr 2014 16:56:11 +0000 (00:56 +0800)]
Flesh out Literature Review

Wasted a lot of time with that vector/raster image example (didn't I say I was going to take it out?? Why do I do these things??)
Anyway, I won't let actual sane descriptions of what I've done get in the way of my ongoing over extended metaphor commit messages.

---

After a terrible battle that lasted more than a day and a night, the skeleton overcame Captain Obvious and ate his flesh.
The skeleton incorporated the flesh into its essence and continued on its way, but after a time the flesh began to rot.

"This is mildly annoying" thought the skeleton (using the brain of Captain Obvious), "but I guess it is better than nothing"

However soon parts of the skeleton were dropping off. "If I don't find some sentence structure soon this will end very badly",
thought the skeleton (using the half of its brain that was still working). "Some citations would be nice too" it added.

5 years agoAdd example of Vector vs Raster Graphics
Sam Moore [Tue, 29 Apr 2014 05:16:10 +0000 (13:16 +0800)]
Add example of Vector vs Raster Graphics

On the first day, the skeleton encountered a fox

"That fox will make a good example of Vector vs Raster Graphics" thought the skeleton
Suddenly, Captain Obvious appeared to challenge the skeleton to a battle!

"THAT FOX IS SUPERFLOUS" shouted Captain Obvious.
"But pretty pictures!" cried the Skeleton.
Captain Obvious hesitated, clearly torn. After a long pause, he sighed.
"I guess you've got me there" he said.

(NB: I will probably remove this example when I have something of value to put in its place)

5 years agoAnd thus the skeleton rose from the grave
Sam Moore [Tue, 29 Apr 2014 04:28:07 +0000 (12:28 +0800)]
And thus the skeleton rose from the grave

Because the Valkyries kicked it out of Valhalla
It shall now roam the Earth searching for its Content

5 years agoAdd a skeleton
Sam Moore [Fri, 11 Apr 2014 13:52:12 +0000 (21:52 +0800)]
Add a skeleton

Skeleton is the right word.
A festering, zombified corpse of a thesis, with it's eyes picked out by crows.

But soon the Valkyries will arrive and escort it to the halls of Valhalla where it will be immortalised forever.

Although it will probably not enjoy it, because being a thesis it will be embarressingly nerdy and always
get beaten up by the Tom Clancy novels, and be picked last for the teams in the daily epic battles.

But despite that it will grow strong with age and the citation count will grow and one day if it is very, very lucky, someone may actually read it

Whoops, there goes my suspension of disbelief.

5 years agoInitial Commit
Sam Moore [Fri, 11 Apr 2014 09:23:32 +0000 (17:23 +0800)]
Initial Commit

This repo is for the individual report by Sam Moore.

UCC git Repository :: git.ucc.asn.au