matches/FYP2014.git
5 years agoDe'Casteljau and Splines master
Sam Moore [Tue, 21 Jan 2014 13:21:27 +0000 (21:21 +0800)]
De'Casteljau and Splines

Should have committed ages ago, but got distracted by other things happening.

Performance test shows Goldman's algorithm is really slow.
Because he is making a bigger matrix and then inverting it multiple times.
Other than that it is the same as De'Casteljau anyway.

Splines are a thing. Tried to work them out myself, ended up just copying the algorithm from wikipedia.

Quad trees are a thing that I have seen before (Barnes Hut; efficient N-body simulations).
In a graphics context they are a way to work out what parts of a scene to render? Maybe look at them more.

TODO: Decide exactly on scope for project.

All I can think of is implementing the "document viewer" on a mobile device. Not sure I want to do that...
Design of document format / viewer should come before putting it on a mobile device anyway.

Will waste some time by looking at PostScript some more for now.

5 years agoBeziars from Iterated Function Systems
Sam Moore [Thu, 16 Jan 2014 05:36:01 +0000 (13:36 +0800)]
Beziars from Iterated Function Systems

Using Goldman's Iterated Function System to generate a Bezier is horribly inefficient.
I guess the point is that it proves that a Bezier is a fractal.

The subdivision still looks like it gives a slightly different curve to
just sampling P(t), but maybe I aren't using enough points.

5 years agoAttempt de Casteljau stuff
Sam Moore [Wed, 15 Jan 2014 15:31:16 +0000 (23:31 +0800)]
Attempt de Casteljau stuff

Probably doing it wrong.
It makes a curve, but it looks like it won't converge to the same curve as the basic algorithm.

5 years agoAdd figures, make a Bezier
Sam Moore [Wed, 15 Jan 2014 14:36:46 +0000 (22:36 +0800)]
Add figures, make a Bezier

For your information, Potter, a Bezier is a stone taken from the stomache of a goat and it will save you from most -

Wait, it's actually a fractal, nevermind.

(The way I made it isn't fractally yet. That's the de Casteljau Algorithm. Will try that next)

5 years agoAdd ipython notebook messing with fractal sets
Sam Moore [Wed, 15 Jan 2014 12:29:12 +0000 (20:29 +0800)]
Add ipython notebook messing with fractal sets

 - Stierpinski Gasket
 - Koch Snowflake (O(n^4)-ish !)

Reading Goldman's paper and hoping it will enlighten me.

5 years agoInitial Commit
Sam Moore [Tue, 14 Jan 2014 07:16:44 +0000 (15:16 +0800)]
Initial Commit

UCC git Repository :: git.ucc.asn.au