ipdf/documents.git
8 years agoHappy thoughts... Happy thoughts!
David Gow [Mon, 19 May 2014 02:25:54 +0000 (10:25 +0800)]
Happy thoughts... Happy thoughts!

8 years agoSome stuff I learnt in maths that isn't relevant
David Gow [Mon, 19 May 2014 01:25:47 +0000 (09:25 +0800)]
Some stuff I learnt in maths that isn't relevant

8 years agoEyelids drooping, neurons not quite firing.
David Gow [Sun, 18 May 2014 23:35:53 +0000 (07:35 +0800)]
Eyelids drooping, neurons not quite firing.

8 years agoMerge branch 'master' of git.ucc.asn.au:ipdf/documents
David Gow [Sun, 18 May 2014 17:10:10 +0000 (01:10 +0800)]
Merge branch 'master' of git.ucc.asn.au:ipdf/documents

8 years agoI should be ashamed, but at least my shame is safe
David Gow [Sun, 18 May 2014 17:08:20 +0000 (01:08 +0800)]
I should be ashamed, but at least my shame is safe

Looking at the diff shows me how I've deleted more than I've added, and that
this still isn't even a first-order approximation to a literature review.

8 years agoAutomatic commit of irc logs
C R Onjob [Sun, 18 May 2014 17:00:02 +0000 (01:00 +0800)]
Automatic commit of irc logs

In the plot, people came to the land; the land loved them; they worked and
struggled and had lots of children.  There was a Frenchman who talked funny
and a greenhorn from England who was a fancy-pants but when it came to the
crunch he was all courage.  Those novels would make you retch.
-- Canadian novelist Robertson Davies, on the generic Canadian
   novel.

8 years agoAutomatic commit of irc logs
C R Onjob [Thu, 8 May 2014 17:00:07 +0000 (01:00 +0800)]
Automatic commit of irc logs

Q: What looks like a cat, flies like a bat, brays like a donkey, and
plays like a monkey?
A: Nothing.

8 years agoMerge branch 'master' of git.ucc.asn.au:/ipdf/documents
Sam Moore [Thu, 8 May 2014 15:34:01 +0000 (23:34 +0800)]
Merge branch 'master' of git.ucc.asn.au:/ipdf/documents

... Yep.

8 years agoMore references (unsummarised)
Sam Moore [Thu, 8 May 2014 15:32:49 +0000 (23:32 +0800)]
More references (unsummarised)

 - Computer Graphics by Hearn and Baker (2nd Ed)
 - Bresnham's Line
 - Wu's Line

I'm going to have to merge this aren't I?

8 years agoAutomatic commit of irc logs
C R Onjob [Wed, 7 May 2014 17:00:02 +0000 (01:00 +0800)]
Automatic commit of irc logs

So you're back... about time...

8 years agoAutomatic commit of irc logs
C R Onjob [Tue, 6 May 2014 17:00:02 +0000 (01:00 +0800)]
Automatic commit of irc logs

You will reach the highest possible point in your business or profession.

8 years agoAutomatic commit of irc logs
C R Onjob [Mon, 5 May 2014 17:00:04 +0000 (01:00 +0800)]
Automatic commit of irc logs

She is not refined.  She is not unrefined.  She keeps a parrot.
-- Mark Twain

8 years agoMerge branch 'master' of git.ucc.asn.au:ipdf/documents
David Gow [Mon, 5 May 2014 03:19:57 +0000 (11:19 +0800)]
Merge branch 'master' of git.ucc.asn.au:ipdf/documents

8 years agoPDF version, + more papers
David Gow [Mon, 5 May 2014 03:18:31 +0000 (11:18 +0800)]
PDF version, + more papers

8 years agoAutomatic commit of irc logs
C R Onjob [Sat, 3 May 2014 17:00:03 +0000 (01:00 +0800)]
Automatic commit of irc logs

You'll wish that you had done some of the hard things when they were easier
to do.

8 years agoSome more stuff.
David Gow [Sat, 3 May 2014 09:07:03 +0000 (17:07 +0800)]
Some more stuff.

8 years agoAutomatic commit of irc logs
C R Onjob [Thu, 1 May 2014 17:00:01 +0000 (01:00 +0800)]
Automatic commit of irc logs

Don't read any sky-writing for the next two weeks.

8 years agoThe GNU MPFR C Library and Articles by William Kahan
Sam Moore [Thu, 1 May 2014 15:47:17 +0000 (23:47 +0800)]
The GNU MPFR C Library and Articles by William Kahan

MPFR paper referenced one of Kahan's lectures, so that got included.

MPFR also has MPFR++
One of them might get used? They have debian packages.

8 years agoSummarise kilgarde2012gpu and more
Sam Moore [Thu, 1 May 2014 06:37:37 +0000 (14:37 +0800)]
Summarise kilgarde2012gpu and more

Started by looking for papers on vector graphics displays, followed the citations forward in time, ended up at kilgard2012gpu

Should at least mention the GPU approaches in the Literature Review and ideally explore how this may affect the precision because of how GPUs deal with floats
compared to IEEE CPUs.

8 years agoNotes on SVG 1.1, OpenVG, DOM/XML
Sam Moore [Wed, 30 Apr 2014 17:11:41 +0000 (01:11 +0800)]
Notes on SVG 1.1, OpenVG, DOM/XML

Putting the "document formats" in "infinite precision document formats"

After 3 months of it not being there (the "summary" of the pdfref and plrm do not count) :S

8 years agoAutomatic commit of irc logs
C R Onjob [Wed, 30 Apr 2014 17:00:03 +0000 (01:00 +0800)]
Automatic commit of irc logs

Expect a letter from a friend who will ask a favor of you.

8 years agoUncommitted notes on HFPA and symlink to Sam's Lit Review
Sam Moore [Wed, 30 Apr 2014 04:41:03 +0000 (12:41 +0800)]
Uncommitted notes on HFPA and symlink to Sam's Lit Review

Sam's Lit Review is in the ipdf/sam repository so as not to sully this repository with its disgusting git commit messages.
But it might be easier for Tim to find if it is in this one.

8 years agoAutomatic commit of irc logs
C R Onjob [Tue, 29 Apr 2014 17:00:02 +0000 (01:00 +0800)]
Automatic commit of irc logs

In the Spring, I have counted 136 different kinds of weather inside of
24 hours.
-- Mark Twain, on New England weather

8 years agoAutomatic commit of irc logs
C R Onjob [Mon, 28 Apr 2014 17:00:03 +0000 (01:00 +0800)]
Automatic commit of irc logs

Questionable day.

Ask somebody something.

8 years agoSome horrifyingly bad Lit Review stuff.
David Gow [Mon, 28 Apr 2014 03:25:03 +0000 (11:25 +0800)]
Some horrifyingly bad Lit Review stuff.

8 years agoAutomatic commit of irc logs
C R Onjob [Sun, 27 Apr 2014 17:00:02 +0000 (01:00 +0800)]
Automatic commit of irc logs

Don't go surfing in South Dakota for a while.

8 years agoAutomatic commit of irc logs
C R Onjob [Fri, 25 Apr 2014 17:00:02 +0000 (01:00 +0800)]
Automatic commit of irc logs

Reader, suppose you were an idiot.  And suppose you were a member of
Congress.  But I repeat myself.
-- Mark Twain

8 years agoAutomatic commit of irc logs
C R Onjob [Thu, 24 Apr 2014 17:00:02 +0000 (01:00 +0800)]
Automatic commit of irc logs

Q: What do agnostic, insomniac dyslexics do at night?
A: Stay awake and wonder if there's a dog.

8 years agoAutomatic commit of irc logs
C R Onjob [Wed, 23 Apr 2014 17:00:02 +0000 (01:00 +0800)]
Automatic commit of irc logs

If you tell the truth you don't have to remember anything.
-- Mark Twain

8 years agoAutomatic commit of irc logs
C R Onjob [Tue, 22 Apr 2014 17:00:04 +0000 (01:00 +0800)]
Automatic commit of irc logs

You are always busy.

8 years agoHandbook of Floating-Point Arithmetic
Sam Moore [Tue, 22 Apr 2014 10:38:13 +0000 (18:38 +0800)]
Handbook of Floating-Point Arithmetic

Relatively recent (2010) textbook discussing floating point representations, issues, algorithms, hardware...

8 years agoToday's battle with the Literature
Sam Moore [Mon, 21 Apr 2014 17:13:46 +0000 (01:13 +0800)]
Today's battle with the Literature

Despite a heroic effort I think I'd have to say I lost.

8 years agoAutomatic commit of irc logs
C R Onjob [Mon, 21 Apr 2014 17:00:02 +0000 (01:00 +0800)]
Automatic commit of irc logs

Abandon the search for Truth; settle for a good fantasy.

8 years agoAutomatic commit of irc logs
C R Onjob [Thu, 17 Apr 2014 17:00:02 +0000 (01:00 +0800)]
Automatic commit of irc logs

Do not overtax your powers.

8 years agoAutomatic commit of irc logs
C R Onjob [Wed, 16 Apr 2014 17:00:02 +0000 (01:00 +0800)]
Automatic commit of irc logs

Q: What's the difference betweeen USL and the Graf Zeppelin?
A: The Graf Zeppelin represented cutting edge technology for its time.

8 years agoAutomatic commit of irc logs
C R Onjob [Tue, 15 Apr 2014 17:00:03 +0000 (01:00 +0800)]
Automatic commit of irc logs

You have an unusual equipment for success.  Be sure to use it properly.

8 years agoAnother IEEE paper
Sam Moore [Tue, 15 Apr 2014 15:47:15 +0000 (23:47 +0800)]
Another IEEE paper

On floating point adders

8 years agoNotes on GHDL
Sam Moore [Mon, 14 Apr 2014 16:31:08 +0000 (00:31 +0800)]
Notes on GHDL

Not really relevant to literature but explains how we are using it.

8 years agoAutomatic commit of irc logs
C R Onjob [Fri, 11 Apr 2014 17:00:02 +0000 (01:00 +0800)]
Automatic commit of irc logs

Nothing so needs reforming as other people's habits.
-- Mark Twain

8 years agoMerge branch 'master' of git.ucc.asn.au:/ipdf/documents
Sam Moore [Fri, 11 Apr 2014 09:35:18 +0000 (17:35 +0800)]
Merge branch 'master' of git.ucc.asn.au:/ipdf/documents

Merge the IRC logs.
Sigh.

8 years agoSome notes and papers, VHDL or FPU related
Sam Moore [Fri, 11 Apr 2014 09:34:20 +0000 (17:34 +0800)]
Some notes and papers, VHDL or FPU related

8 years agoAutomatic commit of irc logs
C R Onjob [Wed, 9 Apr 2014 17:00:02 +0000 (01:00 +0800)]
Automatic commit of irc logs

When I reflect upon the number of disagreeable people who I know who have gone
to a better world, I am moved to lead a different life.
-- Mark Twain, "Pudd'nhead Wilson's Calendar"

8 years agoAutomatic commit of irc logs
C R Onjob [Tue, 8 Apr 2014 17:00:02 +0000 (01:00 +0800)]
Automatic commit of irc logs

Think twice before speaking, but don't say "think think click click".

8 years agoAutomatic commit of irc logs
C R Onjob [Mon, 7 Apr 2014 17:00:03 +0000 (01:00 +0800)]
Automatic commit of irc logs

Q: What happens when four WASPs find themselves in the same room?
A: A dinner party.

8 years agoAdd some references related to FPUs (hardware)
Sam Moore [Mon, 7 Apr 2014 13:52:26 +0000 (21:52 +0800)]
Add some references related to FPUs (hardware)

 - Most talk about VHDL which in theory I am supposed to know
 - Not summarised in great detail; adopting a bit of a shotgun approach at the moment

8 years agoBoost Multiprecision Library
Sam Moore [Mon, 7 Apr 2014 05:41:24 +0000 (13:41 +0800)]
Boost Multiprecision Library

Not much to say until I've tried using it.

8 years agoDavid's lit notes, LaTeXiFiEd
David Gow [Mon, 7 Apr 2014 03:49:44 +0000 (11:49 +0800)]
David's lit notes, LaTeXiFiEd

8 years agoAutomatic commit of irc logs
C R Onjob [Sun, 6 Apr 2014 17:00:02 +0000 (01:00 +0800)]
Automatic commit of irc logs

Q: Why did the chicken cross the road?
A: He was giving it last rites.

8 years agoAutomatic commit of irc logs
C R Onjob [Wed, 2 Apr 2014 17:00:02 +0000 (01:00 +0800)]
Automatic commit of irc logs

Q: What is purple and commutes?
A: An Abelian grape.

8 years agoNotes on Goldberg papers
Sam Moore [Mon, 31 Mar 2014 00:49:35 +0000 (08:49 +0800)]
Notes on Goldberg papers

Not finished, it is a long paper

8 years agoAutomatic commit of irc logs
C R Onjob [Thu, 27 Mar 2014 17:00:01 +0000 (01:00 +0800)]
Automatic commit of irc logs

Repartee is something we think of twenty-four hours too late.
-- Mark Twain

8 years agoAutomatic commit of irc logs
C R Onjob [Wed, 26 Mar 2014 17:00:04 +0000 (01:00 +0800)]
Automatic commit of irc logs

The naked truth of it is, I have no shirt.
-- William Shakespeare, "Love's Labour's Lost"

8 years agoMerge branch 'master' of git.ucc.asn.au:ipdf/documents
David Gow [Wed, 26 Mar 2014 07:35:30 +0000 (15:35 +0800)]
Merge branch 'master' of git.ucc.asn.au:ipdf/documents

8 years agoSome version of some literature notes. To be TeXiFiEd
David Gow [Wed, 26 Mar 2014 07:34:58 +0000 (15:34 +0800)]
Some version of some literature notes. To be TeXiFiEd

8 years agoAutomatic commit of irc logs
C R Onjob [Tue, 25 Mar 2014 17:00:02 +0000 (01:00 +0800)]
Automatic commit of irc logs

If you can read this, you're too close.

8 years agoAutomatic commit of irc logs
C R Onjob [Mon, 24 Mar 2014 17:00:03 +0000 (01:00 +0800)]
Automatic commit of irc logs

You will be run over by a bus.

8 years agoSummarise papers
Sam Moore [Thu, 20 Mar 2014 06:35:09 +0000 (14:35 +0800)]
Summarise papers

cheng2002 - PDF - Finally [something useful]
hayes2012 - Pixels or Perish [or "Why we should put JavaScript in our PDFs"]
barnes2013 - Embedding 3D interactive figures in PDFs [Similar philosophy to hayes2012 but less JavaScript]

8 years agoCommit before actually starting to do work
Sam Moore [Thu, 20 Mar 2014 05:27:25 +0000 (13:27 +0800)]
Commit before actually starting to do work

Setup is important ok.

8 years agoOnly delete target pdf's in Makefile
Sam Moore [Thu, 20 Mar 2014 05:16:34 +0000 (13:16 +0800)]
Only delete target pdf's in Makefile

In theory we put things that we can't make ourselves in the references folder
But it still seems unwise to just go and delete every single pdf.

8 years agoAdd Literature Notes document
Sam Moore [Thu, 20 Mar 2014 05:12:22 +0000 (13:12 +0800)]
Add Literature Notes document

Make it with LaTeX so it will be all linked and cool and stuff
Also make a Makefile; will just build any tex files we use

tex is the best.

8 years agoAdd my proposal and references
Sam Moore [Thu, 20 Mar 2014 04:47:33 +0000 (12:47 +0800)]
Add my proposal and references

8 years agoAutomatic commit of irc logs
C R Onjob [Wed, 19 Mar 2014 17:00:02 +0000 (01:00 +0800)]
Automatic commit of irc logs

Another good night not to sleep in a eucalyptus tree.

8 years agoAutomatic commit of irc logs
C R Onjob [Wed, 19 Mar 2014 11:56:02 +0000 (19:56 +0800)]
Automatic commit of irc logs

You definitely intend to start living sometime soon.

8 years agoAutomatic commit of irc logs
C R Onjob [Wed, 19 Mar 2014 11:13:01 +0000 (19:13 +0800)]
Automatic commit of irc logs

You are capable of planning your future.

8 years agoAutomatic commit of irc logs\n
Sam Moore [Wed, 19 Mar 2014 05:00:02 +0000 (13:00 +0800)]
Automatic commit of irc logs\n

8 years agoAutomatic commit of irc logs\n
Sam Moore [Mon, 17 Mar 2014 05:00:02 +0000 (13:00 +0800)]
Automatic commit of irc logs\n

8 years agoAutomatic commit of irc logs
Sam Moore [Mon, 17 Mar 2014 04:42:23 +0000 (12:42 +0800)]
Automatic commit of irc logs

8 years agoI've got a lovely bunch of documents!
David Gow [Mon, 17 Mar 2014 04:32:27 +0000 (12:32 +0800)]
I've got a lovely bunch of documents!

UCC git Repository :: git.ucc.asn.au