Add tester for numerical calculation of PI
authorSam Moore <matches@ucc.asn.au>
Thu, 3 Apr 2014 09:19:35 +0000 (17:19 +0800)
committerSam Moore <matches@ucc.asn.au>
Thu, 3 Apr 2014 09:22:34 +0000 (17:22 +0800)
commitfdc6f69d40cf7e872218ec48493534cc3b85c852
treefafd533428abeaa4e9a3c5818e67f86f0797829c
parent0036b4cad14d044c800d56767cbfd6e08efb3a5a
Add tester for numerical calculation of PI

Calculate PI using float, double and Real and compare the error and performance.

Traditional floats have a point (hardware dependent) where the error starts to behave unpredictably
rather than decreasing with number of intervals - due to rounding/precision errors.
Can see that doubles are better than single precision floats but they still do it.

An infinite precision Real would not have these problems (hah!)
We can at least aim to do better than double.

Based on PHYS CQM/pprog courses from 2012.
Should probably find a literature reference for this.
src/real.h
src/tests/calculatepi.cpp [new file with mode: 0644]

UCC git Repository :: git.ucc.asn.au