ipdf/code.git
8 years agoModify symlinks
Sam Moore [Fri, 11 Apr 2014 05:36:31 +0000 (13:36 +0800)]
Modify symlinks

Using a symlink to a symlink... I don't know why. Because I can.

8 years agoAdd rounding mode to VFPU
Sam Moore [Fri, 11 Apr 2014 05:30:53 +0000 (13:30 +0800)]
Add rounding mode to VFPU

For some reason it needs an extra newline?
It would be much better if this used binary read/write.

Will look into getting that to happen in the ipdf/vfpu repo at some point.

8 years agoVFPU now using std::bitset instead of just float typedef
Sam Moore [Wed, 9 Apr 2014 17:45:06 +0000 (01:45 +0800)]
VFPU now using std::bitset instead of just float typedef

It's still 32 bits. However it might not break if I change it?
Can't test it at the moment because the virtual FPU is 32 bits still.

8 years agoAn interface for a FPU compiled from VHDL
Sam Moore [Wed, 9 Apr 2014 15:41:58 +0000 (23:41 +0800)]
An interface for a FPU compiled from VHDL

I have tested with the FPU from https://github.com/jop-devel/jop

The way this works is really awful...

1. Make (or steal from jop) a VHDL FPU
2. Make (or steal from jop) a testbench that uses stdio to read operands and ops
   - The jop one reads from a generated file, but it is trivial to change to "STD_INPUT" and remove all the assertion tests.
3. Compile testbench into an executable with ghdl
4. Call VFPU::Start which does the following:
   - Create a socketpair(2)
   - fork(2) and in the child dup(2) stdin/stdout to the socketpair
     - Redirect stderr to /dev/null because the testbench generates 10^3 warning messages
   - in the child, exec(3) the testbench FPU
5. Call VFPU::Exec passing the desired operands and opcodes
   - The operands and opcodes are written as hex strings over the socketpair
   - The child executing the FPU program does its thing
   - The result is read back as a hex string
6. When finished, call VFPU::Halt to kill(2) the FPU

I tried to get ghdl and gcc/g++ to make a static library to call ghdl_main instead
of exec'ing things. But that didn't work. The fork and socketpair would have still been
required for that approach anyway.

TODO:
  - Make the interface (not the FPU) deal with arbitrary size registers
  - Wrap a Real type around it so we can #define REAL_SIMULATED_FPU

I haven't put any of the VHDL in the git repo for obvious reasons.
If I actually start messing with it, it will probably get a seperate repo.

This may end up being a complete waste of time?
Although potentially being able to run an arbitrary FPU albeit in a horrible manner does seem cool.

8 years agoFix RealToFloat test (hopefully)
David Gow [Wed, 9 Apr 2014 08:22:34 +0000 (16:22 +0800)]
Fix RealToFloat test (hopefully)

8 years agoUse x86_64 when uname is broken
Sam Moore [Wed, 9 Apr 2014 08:10:27 +0000 (16:10 +0800)]
Use x86_64 when uname is broken

Wierd...

>> sam@daedalus:~$ uname -i
>> unknown
>> sam@daedalus:~$ uname -a
>> Linux daedalus 3.2.0-4-amd64 #1 SMP Debian 3.2.46-1 x86_64 GNU/Linux

8 years agoZoom in and out with the mouse wheel.
David Gow [Wed, 9 Apr 2014 08:01:54 +0000 (16:01 +0800)]
Zoom in and out with the mouse wheel.

Note that zoom-out is totally broken with half-precision,
so single-precision is the default. You can still see some artefacts
in single precision mode if you zoom in enough.

Zoom into the corner of a rectangle and then click on the corner an try to drag it.
Eventually you'll notice the reduced precision, and the rectangle will jump around.

8 years agoYou can move around a document with Click+Drag!
David Gow [Wed, 9 Apr 2014 06:40:43 +0000 (14:40 +0800)]
You can move around a document with Click+Drag!

Uses some scary C++11 features, so no idea if this will break the CS Lab machines
and their ancient version of gcc.

8 years agoIt works on the lab machines now, I swear.
David Gow [Mon, 7 Apr 2014 04:28:51 +0000 (12:28 +0800)]
It works on the lab machines now, I swear.

8 years agoMagic SDL2 sauce! Now with 32-bit!
David Gow [Mon, 7 Apr 2014 04:18:23 +0000 (12:18 +0800)]
Magic SDL2 sauce! Now with 32-bit!

(My deepest and most sincere apologies to anyone who tries to read the Makefile now)

8 years agoDavid's secret SDL2 magic sauce!
David Gow [Mon, 7 Apr 2014 03:58:59 +0000 (11:58 +0800)]
David's secret SDL2 magic sauce!

8 years agoAdd tester for numerical calculation of PI
Sam Moore [Thu, 3 Apr 2014 09:19:35 +0000 (17:19 +0800)]
Add tester for numerical calculation of PI

Calculate PI using float, double and Real and compare the error and performance.

Traditional floats have a point (hardware dependent) where the error starts to behave unpredictably
rather than decreasing with number of intervals - due to rounding/precision errors.
Can see that doubles are better than single precision floats but they still do it.

An infinite precision Real would not have these problems (hah!)
We can at least aim to do better than double.

Based on PHYS CQM/pprog courses from 2012.
Should probably find a literature reference for this.

8 years agoSave/Load chunks.
David Gow [Mon, 31 Mar 2014 12:48:09 +0000 (20:48 +0800)]
Save/Load chunks.

8 years agoTester to compare custom Real to IEEE float
Sam Moore [Wed, 26 Mar 2014 17:42:04 +0000 (01:42 +0800)]
Tester to compare custom Real to IEEE float

Also got the endianness right this time. I think.

8 years agoMake real.h so we can change reals
Sam Moore [Wed, 26 Mar 2014 17:20:20 +0000 (01:20 +0800)]
Make real.h so we can change reals

Needed to fix view.cpp to call Float where it expects GLfloat
Had an attempt at making a half precision float, but it didn't go very well.

I don't think half precision floats are *that* terrible...
Probably got the bit masking wrong.

8 years agoMerge branch 'master' of git.ucc.asn.au:/ipdf/code
Sam Moore [Wed, 26 Mar 2014 16:27:44 +0000 (00:27 +0800)]
Merge branch 'master' of git.ucc.asn.au:/ipdf/code

Conflicts:
src/main.cpp

Fixed that and also fixed other things.

8 years agoTweak Makefile to make testing nicer
Sam Moore [Wed, 26 Mar 2014 16:17:12 +0000 (00:17 +0800)]
Tweak Makefile to make testing nicer

Who said you needed fancy high level languages to do unit testing?

It can't just be done using Make though; a bash script was also needed.

8 years agoCrazy std::vector<T> loader and saver.
David Gow [Wed, 26 Mar 2014 16:15:01 +0000 (00:15 +0800)]
Crazy std::vector<T> loader and saver.

8 years agoCMake support. We don't have to use it, but it's there if we do.
David Gow [Wed, 26 Mar 2014 15:57:37 +0000 (23:57 +0800)]
CMake support. We don't have to use it, but it's there if we do.

8 years agoIt now is all the working.
David Gow [Wed, 26 Mar 2014 10:54:18 +0000 (18:54 +0800)]
It now is all the working.

8 years agoMerge branch 'master' of git.ucc.asn.au:ipdf/code
David Gow [Wed, 26 Mar 2014 10:50:28 +0000 (18:50 +0800)]
Merge branch 'master' of git.ucc.asn.au:ipdf/code

8 years agoAdd ObjectType for Object Type
Sam Moore [Wed, 26 Mar 2014 10:50:14 +0000 (18:50 +0800)]
Add ObjectType for Object Type

8 years agoInitial outline rendering.
David Gow [Wed, 26 Mar 2014 10:49:25 +0000 (18:49 +0800)]
Initial outline rendering.

8 years agoImplement document saving and loading
Sam Moore [Wed, 26 Mar 2014 10:23:11 +0000 (18:23 +0800)]
Implement document saving and loading

Also implemented a tester to test it doesn't explode.

We should set this up to make replacing main() easy.

8 years agoAll of the SDL2 graphics stuff.
David Gow [Wed, 26 Mar 2014 10:17:00 +0000 (18:17 +0800)]
All of the SDL2 graphics stuff.

(With deprecated, obsolete OpenGL functions! Woo!)

8 years agoFix makefile.
David Gow [Wed, 26 Mar 2014 09:19:13 +0000 (17:19 +0800)]
Fix makefile.

8 years agoAdded Document and View classes
Sam Moore [Wed, 26 Mar 2014 09:17:14 +0000 (17:17 +0800)]
Added Document and View classes

And member functions for doing stuff.

Document Format completed (not really).

8 years agoipdf.h and Real type
Sam Moore [Wed, 26 Mar 2014 08:33:02 +0000 (16:33 +0800)]
ipdf.h and Real type

Real == float for now. Can make a class and overload it later.

Naming convention:

void ThisIsAFunction(Type this_is_a_var);

8 years agoSome makefile changes
David Gow [Wed, 26 Mar 2014 08:29:53 +0000 (16:29 +0800)]
Some makefile changes

8 years agoAdd basic code
Sam Moore [Wed, 26 Mar 2014 08:20:30 +0000 (16:20 +0800)]
Add basic code

Log functions & Makefil

8 years agoThe code repository exists....?
David Gow [Wed, 26 Mar 2014 07:36:34 +0000 (15:36 +0800)]
The code repository exists....?

UCC git Repository :: git.ucc.asn.au